Helvellyn walk for a determined newbie

Forum » General Forums » General discussion

By general-lee25 on 04/03/17 at 10:22am

Hi folks,

I'm usually a runner, but I'm planning some walking to enjoy some of our fabulous countryside and also blow some cobwebs off. I'm in the process of putting the finishing touches to a very lengthy and exhausting thesis that has taken up the last twelve months so am looking forward to some adventures. I've planned a couple of nights in Penrith at the beginning of April, and I wanted to do a lone walk around Ullwater/Helvellyn on a week day.

I am quite a fit guy, but as a beginner I want to make sure this is safe and I don't have mountain rescue out looking for me! I don't think the full Helvellyn walk would be advisable for me at this stage as I will be on my own and as I get to grips with maps etc, but I wondered if seasoned walkers out there could suggest a challenge for me that might allow me to do a little scrambling, see some peaks and also get me out for the best part of the day.

Thank you

Dan

By SheepFarmer on 07/03/17 at 8:13am

Here's a route for you, with Swirral Edge giving you adventure / scrambling