Possible solution to map tile quotas

Forum » General Forums » Mapping

By fxfocus on 06/01/17 at 10:40am

I've been using an android app called maverick for a few years now. I mainly use it for navigation on my mobile phone while out walking. It offers full coverage OS 1:50 and 1:25 maps and works well as a gps device. A year or two back the OS maps stopped working and for the longest time I couldn't find a way to fix this or even have any indication as to why. Eventually I came across this http://yorkramblers.org.uk/York/Maverick.pdf which solved the problem.

I'm wondering if this could be a solution for walklakes map. So each member would be using his/her personal licence quota. Since I added my licence info to maverick I have had no problems at all. Unfortunately I have no knowledge at all as to how to implement such a system but I assume the relevant expertise exists at the walklakes site.

By TallPaul on 06/01/17 at 12:18pm

That's interesting, however due to the way we use Bing mapping we don't currently have a problem with bouncing off their quota limits.

I'm concerned because I set the daily tile quota to 100,000 per user per day which is way more than I believe anyone is currently using (even you, and you're quite high in the league table at the moment ;) ).

Are you being restricted from accessing the Bing tiles when logged on? If you are we need to look at that code again.

By fxfocus on 11/01/17 at 9:26am

Not experienced any restrictions so far. I was reacting to some earlier threads I had read. Please let me know if I am using too much and I'll cut back. I did look at making a donation but ran into two problems, at least for me. First I don't want to open a paypal account. Second I'm not keen on setting up a regular automatic repeating donation. I could though make a simple (and free) bank transfer given your account details. You can send your account details via private email if you prefer.

By TallPaul on 11/01/17 at 9:58am